A DWI charge is a serious charge that has the potential of negatively impacting your future. You have to talk to a lawyer if you have been charged with DWI so that the case can be dismissed or reduced. A lawyer can save you a lot of money that may end up paying in fines and court fees.
Texas DWI cost & fines for DWI or DUIs range between $2,000 and $6,000. But there are additional punishments that you may have to go through too.
A DWI Lawyer Can Help You Build A Strong Case
Hiring a DUI or DWI lawyer in Texas can be expensive. But going alone in your DWI case will definitely be expensive in the long term. An experienced and skillful lawyer can help save your reputation and expunge any criminal record.
Additional reasons to hire a lawyer include that they can:
- Negotiate and communicate with all parties involved in your case including the court
- Aggressively represent you in court to have the case reduced or dismissed
- Request for an administrative license hearing to that you do not lose your driving rights
- Answer your questions about your legal rights and options in your DWI case
- Explain to you any negotiated plea deals in a way that you can understand
Call a DWI lawyer as soon as possible after you have been arrested for a DWI so that they can start working on getting the best possible outcome for your case.
Can You Afford A DWI Lawyer?
Law firms do not charge the same fees. Some lawyers charge you an hourly rate while others charge a flat fee. An hourly rate means that your total costs will be determined by how severe your case is and the amount of planning needed to prepare for your case. The cost can increase significantly if your lawyer is capable of getting a good outcome for your case.
Generally, people often have to pay between $5,000 and $15,000 for a standard or simple DWI case. But complex trials with several aggravating factors can cost up to $20,000. But keep in mind that a lawyer can help save you from the following expenses:
- DWI license suspension
- Increased DWI insurance costs
- Fines for DUI and DWI
- Bail costs
- Court fees
- Cost of ignition interlock devices
- Vehicle forfeiture impound costs
- Probation costs
- Restitution costs and more
You need a lawyer to help you get reduced standard penalties and negotiate a favorable plea bargain.
Maximum Fines For A DWI In Texas
For a first-time DWI offense, you pay up to $2,000 in criminal fines plus a $3,000 DWI fine. You may also end up getting a 6-month jail time. Generally, you are not likely to spend more than a week in jail if it’s your first offense.
But this is only if your first time BAC was 0.08 or over but not over 0.15.
For subsequent DWI convictions, you may pay up to $10,000 in fines. An experienced DWI lawyer can try to highlight the fact that you are a first-time offender with no prior DWI convictions to try and convince the judge to reduce the fines or penalties.